Louisiana Marriage License Requirements: May vary from parish to parish. A marriage license issued in any Louisiana parish is valid good in any city.
Online Forms: www.oph.dhh.state.la.us/recordsstatistics/vitalrecords/docs/PACKET 17 208_04.pdf
- Orleans Parish Marriage License Office
- Jefferson Parish (East Bank)
- Jefferson Parish (West Bank)
- St. Tammany Parish (Covington)
- St. Tammany Parish (Slidell)
- St. Bernard Parish
- ID Requirement:
- A picture ID such as a driver's license or passport
- Certified copy of birth certificates
- Social Security number
- You should both also know your parents' full name, mother's maiden name, and the states and parish/county in which you were born.
- If previously married, you will need to show proof of how the marriage ended, I.E.; a divorce judgment or a death certificate. These must be certified copies.
- Residency Requirement: You do not have to be a resident of Louisiana.
- Under 18: If either party to the marriage is between the ages of 16 and 18, the presence and signatures of both parents are required. If a parent has legal custody in a divorce, a certified copy of the judgment must be presented. If either party is under the age of 16, a court order is required in order to obtain a license.
- Covenant Marriage Option: When a couple opts for the "covenant" marriage, they agree to waive their right to the no-fault divorce. In the event that the marriage does fall apart, only adultery, abuse, abandonment or a lengthy separation will allow a divorce to take place. Both parties must apply in person for this license, and premarital counseling is required.
- Waiting Period:
- Louisiana requires you wait 72 hours before getting married. The waiting period for state residents can be waived by a judge.
- Out-of-state couples can get married in New Orleans without the 72-hour wait required for locals. To accommodate weekend weddings, the New Orleans Vital Records Marriage License Office has extended its hours. The office, located in the State of Louisiana Building at 325 Loyola Ave., New Orleans, will be open each Saturday from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m.
- Other Tests: Louisiana does not have a blood test requirement.
- Certified Copy of Marriage Certificate: After your wedding the state copy of the license is mailed by the officiant to the office that issued the license. That office processes the license and provides a certified copy. You should order a certified copy at the time you get the license. The State indicates it takes 30 to 40 days for them to process after the ceremony. If you do not get a certified copy after ordering it you should contact the office that issued you the license.
- Proxy Marriages: Proxy marriages are not permitted in Louisiana. However, when applying for the license, both parties need not be present unless they want to sign up for a covenant marriage. Either the bride or groom must be present to apply for a marriage license. A certified birth certificate must be presented for the absent partner.
- Common Law Marriages: No
- Same Sex Marriages: On September 18, 2004, the voters of Louisiana approved a state constitutional amendment that bans same-sex marriages and civil unions.
- Officiants in Louisiana: Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have registered with the clerk of the district court of the parish or with the health department if in New Orleans, and justices of the peace.
- Miscellaneous: License is good for 30 days anywhere in Louisiana. Louisiana has passed a Covenant Marriage Act.
- Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Vital Records Registry
P.O. Box 60630
New Orleans, LA 70160
Fax: (504) 568-5391